Protect yourself and your employer by being aware of your duties, responsibilities and liability as a Notary Public.
All notaries are personally liable for every notarial act that they perform. If someone loses money or suffers damages as a result of your improper or illegal notarization, whether the act was intentional or unintentional, you face unlimited liability for those damages. It is your responsibility to familiarize yourself with Alaska’s notary law (see sidebar) and common law notarial practices and procedures. If you need assistance with any notarization or have questions about notarial practices and procedures, contact the Lt. Governor’s office for assistance.
The limited governmental notary commission
Limited governmental notaries may only perform a notarization if it is related to the official business of the employer. These commissions are open ended and remain active as long as a qualified notary employee remains employed with the government employer under which they originally obtained the commission. Statutes automatically revoke a limited governmental notary commission the moment the employee terminates employment. There is no automatic method for reporting these terminations, so it is possible that a Limited governmental commission may be listed as being active when it is technically revoked due to employment termination.
When performing notarizations as a limited governmental notary you will indicate that your commission expires “with office.” You are prohibited from demanding or accepting any fees for any of the notarizations you perform under this commission.
Except for the above, all other notary laws, procedures and liabilities that apply to regular notaries also apply to limited governmental notaries. If you have questions about these types of commissions please contact the notary administrator.
Applicants who have internet access, active myAlaska accounts (or State of Alaska employee accounts), the ability to receive email messages and scan documents and who can pay the $40.00 application fee with Visa or Mastercard may now apply online through the state’s online notary database web application available at http://notaries.alaska.gov.
Please contact the notary administrator for assistance if you need help with your online application.
Apply By Mail
To apply for a limited governmental notary commission by mail, please acquire and submit the following materials:
- A completed Application form.
- A completed Employer Approval form.
- $40.00 application fee for Municipal and Federal applicants (checks are fine, we also accept Visa and Mastercard.) The $40.00 fee does not apply to State of Alaska employee applicants. The State of Alaska’s EIN number is 92-6001185.
These materials should be submitted together to avoid any delays in processing your application. Please read the forms carefully and fill everything out completely per the instructions that are included with the forms. Most of the information requested on the forms is required by law, so failure to provide necessary information will absolutely result in delays in processing your application. Please contact the notary office for assistance if you need help with your application.
Detailed instructions for applications
Please read the instructions carefully since there may be a delay in processing your application if you do not fill out the form properly.
2. COMPLETE THE EMPLOYER APPROVAL FORM
The limited governmental commissions require your government employer’s approval. This approval is obtained by having the appropriate authority complete our employer approval form.
Complete the employer approval form according to the included instructions and submit the original form along with your original application form and the $40.00 application fee (the application fee is waived for State of Alaska employees.) If your government employer has a special procedure in place for approving commissions, please follow those instructions to the degree that they do not conflict with the Lieutenant Governor’s application requirements or instructions.
3. CHECK YOUR APPLICATION PACKET
Please make sure that your application and employer approval form have been properly completed according to the instructions. Missing and/or incomplete forms and fees – and sending photocopies of documents instead of originals – will delay the processing of your application.
4. SEND YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION PACKET TO (OR APPLY ONLINE):
Office of Lt. Governor
Notary Public Office
240 Main Street, Room 301
Juneau, AK 99801
1. A completed Application form.
2. A completed Employer Approval form.
3. $40.00 application fee for Municipal and Federal applicants (personal or business checks payable to “State of Alaska” are fine, we also accept Visa and Mastercard.) The $40.00 fee is waived for State of Alaska employee applicants.
Send the originals of all documents.
5. FOLLOW UP
If you have not received your commission in the mail within four weeks after mailing it please contact the office.
6. IF YOU NEED HELP
Please call or email with any additional questions, for hard copies of the required forms, or if you need assistance with your application.
(907) 465-5400 fax
(877) 764-1234 toll free within Alaska
Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays