Applicants must be 18 years of age and residents of Alaska who are legally in the United States. Applicants may not within 10 years before the commission takes effect have been convicted of a felony or incarcerated for a felony conviction.
If you have ever had a Notary commission revoked or have been disciplined for Notarial misconduct in Alaska or any other jurisdiction please contact the office to discuss before submitting your application.
Types of Commissions
Regular commissions are available to anyone who qualifies and may be used for any Notarial activity that is allowed by law. Applications for regular commissions must include a properly completed 1,000 Notary Bond and Notary Commission Application form.
Limited Governmental Notary commissions are only available to Federal, State and Municipal employees. Notarial activity under a Limited Governmental Notary commission is limited to the official business of your employer. Applications for Limited Governmental commissions must include a Notary Commission Application form and Employer Approval form.
The statutes allow both types of commissions to be held concurrently if you desire.
Term of Office
Regular commissions are issued for a four-year term and have a specific expiration date that must be included as part of every notarial certificate you complete.
Limited Governmental commissions are open ended and are active as long as the Notary remains employed by the governmental entity they were working for when they obtained the commission. Limited Governmental notaries will indicate that their notary commission expires “with office” on the completed notarial certificates.
The application fee is $40.00, and is non-refundable and non-transferable. The $40.00 application fee is waived for State of Alaska employees who are applying for Limited Governmental commissions.
Please make checks payable to “State of Alaska.” The State of Alaska’s EIN number is 92-6001185.
How to Apply
Which type of commission are you interested in?